Com172CWBlog

First Blog Entry in WordPress.com

Enrolment Process

 

As I am a continuing student from the integrated foundation year of computer science I was no longer required by the registry office to attend a formal enrolment session at the university. I enrolled online in August 2009 by accessing the online enrolment system on the web. This allowed me to view and amend my personal information that was being held by the university, confirm my course and module details for the 2009/2010 academic year and organise my course fee payment. The online enrolment link I used was as follows;

 

http://www.ulster.ac.uk/academicservices/student/Returning%20Students.html

 

 When I first clicked on the link it brought me to the University of Ulster Academic Registry Department for returning students website. I found this system worked very well as it was very simple to use because of its simple design. The website loaded without any difficulties as it had little or few graphics and mainly arial font text with a plain white background.

 

 I followed the online instructions on the site at which then I was instructed to proceed to online enrolment login page http://ole.ulster.ac.uk . This link then provided me with a site that clearly stated that my username and pin code was required to login. After entering these details I had the choice to amend any personal details and to confirm my course modules. Again this system worked well and I didn’t have any problems with it. The system had a well designed interface as they where none unnecessary graphics that may have made the system to run slower but only graphics that appeared on the site was that of the University of Ulster logo. The Login menu provided two text boxes so it was simple to enter my details and a neat Login button to proceed. I found that the online help provided good information for anyone that was experiencing any problems with the system as it provided telephone numbers for the particular university they where wishing to enrol with. This system is very simple to use and to progress through it therefore I believe that someone coming form a non IT background would have the same opinion as the system was kept to a simple design and had no confusing navigation buttons to distract or confuse the user from what they are being asked to complete. I feel the manual and computer based parts of the system worked well together as the modules where provided when the course was selected, my details for example my name, address and pass qualifications where also provided by the system since they had been stored the year previous and save me a lot of time trying to enrol and of course it worked great executing the final result i.e. being enrolled for the 2009/2010 academic year at the University of Ulster Jordanstown. Over all I believe that the system works fantastic the way it has been designed and the user friendly approach has made it simple for everyone to use with out any difficulties. Personally it took me less that five minutes to register online and I can’t see anyway of making the system run any better.

Leave a comment